“Without struggle, there is no progress”

There are no smiles on my face today. There are five major events tugging on me right now. For people the know sports it kind of like getting the ball on a toss sweep and facing five defensive lineman with no blocking. Barry Sanders was the only person that could turn something positive out of that.

I’m hekka down about the situation because I do not see light at the end of the tunnel. Maybe the light is so small that I need my glasses to see it? If I had a weak mind, I might have eradicated myself, but I’m much stronger than that. I must say that is tough to be an african american man in America. I can’t say that “the man” is holding me down because “the man” has always helped me through life. The persecution from my own people. Bonehead events from half-@ssing caused by unsatisfactory job duties plague our people. When I worked at the elementary school, I always taught the older kids not to have the “crabs in the barrel” mentality. They remembered it around me but I wonder did it stick? Oh well, despite my anger I know I must press on because I have a daughter to raise.

It must be harder for african american women in America. Having to deal with these same issues plus trying to avoid being called garden tools and female dogs. Most guys would succumb to the pressure and do something to have themselves incarcerated, making the pool for african american women even smaller. I applaud those women who persevere to preserve the black family.

~ by dc1128 on October 31, 2007.

One Response to ““Without struggle, there is no progress””

  1. Hey Dave,

    I have an idea of how you are feeling right now. But you helped me and now I’m going to say the same to you, This too shall pass.

    Sometimes it seems that life has piled it all on you and you don’t know how to get out of that hole, but it is in these times your strength and your faith is being tested.

    It may not seem like it now but things will get better.

    Julia

Leave a Reply

 
