Been a while…

Yes I have been away from the blog for a while.  I have several projects going on in which I throw myself into wholeheartedly.  The first project is Ubuntu.  This is a version of linux that is the most well known,  I thought I was great with computers until I met Gutsy Gibbon.  It has been a month now and I’m still scratching my head.   I read so much of how this is the best operating system in the world but I take it that it takes a while to master.  After reading many forums and posts I finally downloaded an e-book and I will start reading tomorrow.  I see how it most definitely could be the best system because of its flexibility and free price but it will take some time to master.

Another project I am doing is learning to write grants.  Since the public school system is going down the tube, I wanted to start a community center that helps people get their GED and kids with the CRCT.  In the year 2014, all students with an intelligence quotient of 65 and over will be required to pass the state test.   Yes that means the special ed students have to pass it too.  Anyways, I think there is a market to teach inner city kids study skills and how to improve their state test scores due to the fact that they will not do it at home.  Of course this community center will have a gym and basketball will be a necessity.

The last project is not really a project but an important life decision.  I am trying to decide whether I want to coach collegiately for the rest of my life of to do the high school thing.  In this year off from coaching, I have been sharpening my skills by watching hundreds of NCAA games and coaching kids of all ages.  I want to become a high school coach to shape young men’s lives but with the advent of NCLB and unwritten rules for hiring school counselors, that is becoming more and more of a dream job.  With all the teaching jobs available, who would have thought it would be based on who you know?  maybe that is why when you type in google search “teacher student” the first 15 things are sex cases and teachers being beaten by students.

I’ll leave you with a conversation between a teacher and student that tells how sad education has become:

Student: “My mom is 28 years old.”

Teacher: “How old are you?”

Student: “Fifteen.”

Teacher: “So, your mother had you when she was thirteen?”

Student: “Wow! You can do that in your head that fast?”

Teacher: “Uh, well, uh, don’t worry about it. That’s why I’m a math teacher!”

~ by dc1128 on April 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
