I’m so offended

I wanted to speak about a statement I repeatedly hear that starting to irk me. Why do african american women always say that I will marry a caucasian woman? Is it because I speak in complete sentences and use proper grammar? Is it because I am tall and dark with a master’s degree? Is that not what the majority of african american women want? So why steer me in another direction and then complain that there are very few educated african american men available? I wonder if other guys like me experienced similar comments? I do not see anything wrong with interracial dating as many of my family members have made it work. I have not discovered if the grass is greener on the other side but those remarks pique my curiosity about the other side.

~ by dc1128 on August 18, 2008.

One Response to “I’m so offended”

  1. Hello there!

    There are many reasons why the women who you know have made those remarks to you …but THAT does not mean that the women you know are indicative of all black women.

    No, all black women do not desire a tall dark man with a Master’s degree…. height does not sustain a relationship… skin complexion does not sustain a relationship… academic credentials do not evidence a man’s character or capacity for intimacy or his level of emotional maturity or his level of intelligence.

    I have found that the black men that many black women do not desire are often relegated to the white women…and the black men who are highly desired who go outside of the race are scorned. Since I don’t know the women who have made the remarks you mentioned, I can not say with any certainty what motivated them to make those comments.

    If you are curious about dating women outside of your race, then why not experience different cultures?

    Feel free to read my post, “Who Even Cares If Brothas Date White Women?” (that received 60+ comments)!

    I want to mention that black women ARE NOT a monolithic group. We do not all say the same things, come from the same socioeconomic class, have the same aspirations, or interpret our race or ourselves in the same way.

    Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS!
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

 
